New Floor Plan

As promised yesterday, I am going to post drafts of my new floor plan. Since this property was built on 1905, I can assure the structure was made of wood frame which is not super expensive to be restructured. Hopefully every one can get a better idea of this redesign. If you happen to have other design ideas, let me know and I am open to all suggestions. I am getting excited!

Image

First floor original floor plan

Image

Since I am trying to minimize the restructure cost, I keep most rooms the same way it is but maximize the efficiency of them. I have eliminated the fire place in original living room and make this room a bedroom that I can rent it out. A small bathroom is added as I want to give the new bedroom tenant a private bathroom which will increase rent rate. I will knock down the wall between kitchen and den and a dining table can easily fit into this open area. Current dining room can be used as a small living room.

 ImageThe original second floor plan

Image

The spacious closet connecting to the major bedroom could be turned into a bathroom which could increase the rent significantly. I am also planning to move the door of the top bedroom so that it has its own bathroom.

Image

The original third floor plan

Image

The third floor is also redesigned. Get rid of the closet and connect the two rooms into a one bedroom. I haven’t decide whether there should be a door separating the two rooms since the roof is not flat. A small bathroom has replaced the upper hall. It makes the third floor apartment a private space. 

ImageThe original basement plan

ImageImage

There are two floor plans for the basement. The one on the top is catering for individual tenants for each bedroom while the bottom on is catering for a young child family. It will require more market research on the local demographic data to make my final decision. I personally prefer the bottom design since it has a separate setting with the rest of the property and it diversified the room types. 

During the weekend, I will do some research about the market price of renovation. It is critical whether my investment will work.

Leave a comment